What was the alternative?

2021 has been a bit rotten for everyone. Before I talk specifically about me, me, me, I’ll share a relevant tale. 

We’re all feeling a bit like this

A teacher at my former language school, on his day off, had a bit of an accident playing basketball. He broke a bone in his arm, his elbow if I remember rightly. These things happen and, as someone who has never broken a bone, I can only sympathise and imagine how unpleasant that must have been. As a result of his injury, he had to have a cast, one which fixed his arm at an angle. I am sure that anyone can imagine the difficulty that brings to daily tasks, like getting dressed. What is a person to do in this situation? 

Your answer might depend on a number of factors, of course, but a significant factor may be where you are from. In some countries it might be a valid and feasible option to take sick leave. However, in less civilised countries, paid sick leave is either not available, or at a significant premium. At my former company, there are no specific sick leave days. If we wanted to take time off for sickness it either meant using our paid leave holidays, or unpaid leave. Neither option is that appealing, especially when finances are tight, as they are for many. So this guy does what he felt was right and continued with work. Indeed, by his own report, he felt perfectly able to carry out his duties, with a little adjustment. However, one thing was beyond him: wearing a work shirt. Company rules require that male teachers wear office wear to work, the argument being that it is professional, and Japan is a conservative country. We shall leave aside the laziness inherent in that system. The dress code requires a standard shirt, but the teacher could not put one on.

Being a thoughtful individual, he informed his line manager of his difficulty and proposed his solution, which was to wear a simple, clean t-shirt tucked into his trousers.

It’s impossible, responds his line manager. The teacher is ‘asking for an exception’.

As the teacher pointed out ‘I wouldn’t be asking if it were not an exceptional circumstance.’

The teacher decided to go ahead with his sensible option and teach in a t-shirt. Students did not complain. Indeed, as far as I am aware, they were concerned for the teacher’s well being, as they are not monsters, and said not a thing about his attire.

Unfortunately, his line manager made an appearance at his school to see another teacher. Of course, he saw the injured teacher in his exceptionally dressed state, but said nothing at the time. He called the teacher later and, after a prolonged, heated discussion, gave the teacher an ultimatum of sorts: go home and put on a shirt, or just go home.

The teacher decided to go home.

The issue continued over several days, with communication further up the chain of command resulting in the repeated instruction that a shirt must be worn. Someone in all seriousness appears to have suggested the teacher cut a sleeve from a work shirt and wear that. 

Much of this story breaks my brain because it is so toxic. There’s not a point where anyone seriously expresses concern for the teacher’s condition. Absolutely no effort to assist the teacher in adapting his work situation to account for his disability, temporary though it is. Yet, the suggestion that he cut a sleeve from a shirt just makes me see red. It is Trumpian in its stupidity and callousness. It just makes you ask “What’s the fucking point of wearing the shirt in the first place?” Should people with an injured foot cut the soles off from their shoes so they can still wear the tops?

So, you may have noticed with some relief that I described this company as a former company. I left their employment at the end of July. This was to make the move back to Korea to work at a much more humane organisation. Unfortunately, and very frustratingly, the company required two months notice that I would be leaving. And, the 2020s being what they are, my move to Korea did not go smoothly. I was meant to move in August, but it was not until November that I finally arrived. And, fates ever conspiring, I cannot start work until January, which means no pay until February. 

Japanese law only requires that you give an employer two weeks notice. It is in the contract that teachers provide two months. However, as some may be aware, the law trumps the contract. I decided to be nice. NICE. Why, I ask you. What insanity took me? It benefited me not one bit to give significant notice.

So, 2021 has not been a great year. And I genuinely hope my former company collapses into a pile of useless cut shirt sleeves.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.